In class we discussed the concept of "knowing all of the messages you send." We used this conversation as a way of understanding non-verbal messages. We also spoke about how your topic or your message can be taken very differently then you intend and send more messages then you are aware. I used an example of the first time I wore a Che Guevara tshirt (not knowing who he was). We discussed how my junior ROTC teacher  (considering the context of his life) may have interpreted the message I was sending about the concert I attended, differently then I intended. My overall point is that we need to try to understand how the messages we are sending may be interpreted differently from different points of view. These messages we want to concern ourselves with range from nonverbal messages to being aware of how others may perceive what we are saying because of how our audiences sees us in their minds.


We also discussed your dramatic reading speech in more detail. In general you are all picking good pieces but I want to reiterate some of the things we talked about. I can see from the documents that you turned that a few of you maybe misunderstanding what I am asking for and a couple of you are missing some things.

This dramatic speech is supposed to be in SOMEONE ELSE'S words and NOT your own. It should be a poem, song, part of a play, movie or book etc. This is not a speech that you have written (except Samantha).

There are two parts to your dramatic reading, an introduction and a main body. Your introduction will include the central theme or thesis and the title of your piece(s). The body should be a poem, song, part of a play, movie or book etc. You have two choices for the organization of your dramatic reading (or oral interp):
1. Introduction (max 45 seconds)
2 Body (max 4 minutes and 15 seconds)

or 

1 Body (max 1 minute)
2. Introduction (max 45 seconds)
3 Body (max 3 minutes and 15 seconds)

I would like you to remember that this speech is an introductory level speech and there is NOT too much pressure on you. I want you to focus on performing well and staying in the time limit. In class I described some of the key things we are looking for in this speech. Time management, a central theme or thesis, clarity, a small amount of organization, preparation. The most important are time management and preparation. In this particular type of speech, preparation is the key to time management and clarity. If you practice your speech over and over again, then you have a good chance of staying in the time limit and giving a good audible speech. Your speech must be more then three minutes and no more than five minutes. I suggest that you try for four minutes and practice in several different settings to make sure you stay with in the time limit. 

If you have not uploaded your dramatic reading, then please do so as soon as possible. Even if you don't care about the daily activity point (which I will still give you part of if you upload your document by Friday at noon), it still helps for me to see what you plan to read. 

If you already turned in the assignment and did not do the assignment correctly by wrote out a speech, having a piece that is significantly too long or too short, or missing all or part of your introduction, then I will still give you your full daily activity point if you turn it in by Friday at noon (I would like to give you feed back if necessary). 
 
I look forward to seeing your performances on Saturday!


Samantha Cooper
10/19/2012 08:04:00 am

So I am practicing my speech for tomorrow and I keep trying to make my maid of honor speech sound different than the way I delievered it at the wedding but I feel that it isn't sounding right because of what I wrote in my speech. Is it wrong to give my speech the way I did at the wedding? It has emotion and jokes. I feel like I am stuck on the word dramatic and thinking it has to be over the top and almost sad. Please help!

Reply
Prince White
10/19/2012 08:27:21 am

You don't have to make up some character or something, but you could "read" it in a "dramatic" way. Like one of the videos we watched in class. But I am sure it would be excellent if you did it the way you did at the wedding. Especially considering we won't be at a wedding. Do you understand what I mean? There will be dramatic undertones to your speech because it is supposed to evoke a certain emotion, during a certain time and place that we won't be at. You have to think that tomorrow you will channel some of those wedding day emotions.

Reply
Rebecca Monroe
10/19/2012 11:27:02 am

I recieved your message, I overlooked that you wanted it by noon today. I'm kind of confused about if I did my introduction wrong or not, after recieving your message. Just now getting to it, schedule change at school.

Reply
Prince
10/19/2012 12:24:37 pm

I am having a hard time pulling up your document at this minute, but I saw it the other day and I remember thinking that it look good. We will have a moment to practice tomorrow don't worry.

Reply
K.T. Ward
10/19/2012 04:18:00 pm

Okay so I missed the noon deadline..that's what I get for logging on after work. I will just present tomorrow. I thought I clarified the time requirements and it was my understanding the total time ( intro and all) needs to be 3-5 minutes. Now I have to find a minute...

Reply
Prince White
10/19/2012 05:14:35 pm

It's ok. Show it to me in the morning and like I was saying in the other comment, you will have a few moments tomorrow to go over your work and I will answer any last minute questions. For time, you can read slower or add a small poem, like a haiku or something.

Reply



Leave a Reply.